May Sarton New Hampshire Poetry Prize

We are now accepting submissions for the 2014 May Sarton NH Poetry Prize!

 In November, 2013 Bauhan Publishing was pleased to announce the results of

The 2013 May Sarton New Hampshire Poetry Prize.

Our judge, poet Jeff Friedman, selected:

by David Koehn of Pleasanton, Califronia.

There were more than 200 entries.
David  received a check for $1000 and we will publish his collection in the spring of 2014.


Runner Up was:

The Poet in the Corner
by Midge Marie of Johnstown, Pennsylvania.

Honorable Mentions went to:

How We Bury Our Dead
by Jonathan Travelstead of Carbondale, Illinois;

The Last Jew
by M.E. Silverman of Forsyth, Georgia;

Living With: Poems
by Becky Kennedy of Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts.

Congratulations to all. We hope that you will consider submitting your work again. We select a different noted New Hampshire poet as judge each year, and that person has sole discretion in choosing the winners. The contest guidelines will be posted by the end of January on our website for both mailed in submissions and submission through “Submittable.” If you would like to know when the guidelines are made public, please “like” Bauhan Publishing on Facebook, or check back on our website.
Thanks again for entering our contest!

ComeDownto Earth1The May Sarton NH Poetry Prize for 2012 was given to Nils Michals for Come Down to Earth.





The May Sarton NH Poetry Prize for 2011 was given to Rebecca Givens Rolland for The Wreck of Birds